Department of State (DOS)

The US Department of State is the US Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The DOS headquarters is located in Washington, D.C., not far from the famous White House where the U.S. President resides.

The role of the Department of State

The DOS is a federal department responsible for international relations. This administration of more than 8,000 employees manages more than 100 U.S. embassies and consulates in 190 countries around the world.

The DOS is divided into several business lines. One of its divisions is the Diplomatic Security Service. Its mission is to ensure the security of U.S. diplomats and nationals abroad. This department was particularly involved in the creation of the Visa Waiver Program and in the creation of the ESTA authorization. It has worked with the Department of Homeland Security to facilitate the travel formalities for foreign travelers wishing to visit the USA. This collaboration has allowed nationals of some partner countries to be exempted from visa requirements. This has reduced the cost and time to obtain a travel authorization for the USA.