What is the Visa Waiver Program?

Under U.S. immigration law, the Visa Waiver Program offers the opportunity to visit the U.S. with fewer security requirements. Nationals of eligible countries traveling to the U.S. can stay up to 90 days without a visa. To do so, they must obtain an ESTA. It is necessary to meet the requirements of the Visa Waiver Program to obtain an ESTA.

Who is eligible for the Visa Waiver Program?

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) is a program that allows travelers from partner countries to visit the U.S. without having to obtain an official visa from the U.S. Embassy.

The VWP does not provide for the possibility of extending or changing the traveler’s immigration status: 90 days after the date of entry, the traveler must leave the territory.

Countries participating in the Visa Waiver Program:

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel (since October 2023), Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Any national of these countries can benefit from the VWP if their trip is for tourism or business purposes.

In the context of a business trip, the ESTA authorization allows you to :

In the context of a tourist trip, the ESTA authorization allows you to :

How to benefit from the Visa Waiver Program?

The Visa Waiver Program is a partnership between the United States and the countries listed. Under this agreement, a traveler from one of the participating countries can apply for ESTA online before traveling to the United States.

To obtain an ESTA, there are a few rules to follow before applying:

You must never have been refused a visa prior to your ESTA application.