Obtaining an eTA for Canada

Canada is one of the countries that quickly followed the example of the ESTA for the US in terms of immigration. For several years now, the Canadian government has introduced an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) allowing travelers to visit Canada without the need for a visa. This measure, inaugurated by the United States in 2009, is proving to be a success: it increases the security of the territory while facilitating the entry of travelers in the country.

To obtain an Electronic Travel Authorization for travel to Canada click on eTA Canada.

Who is eligible for the eTA Canada?

Before you can apply for an eTA Canada, you must first verify that your country of origin is on the list of countries participating in the Canadian travel authorization program. To date, this list includes more than 50 countries including European countries. If you are eligible, you can apply by filling out the online application form with your passport, provided that it is valid for the entire duration of your stay. After your information has been verified by Canadian customs officials, the country’s authorities will send you their answer by email.

Here is the list of participating countries:

FinlandFranceGreeceHungarySolomon Islands
MexicomonacoNorwayNew ZealandPapua New Guinea
NetherlandsPolandPortugalUKRepublic of Korea
Czech RepublicSan MarinoSamoaSingaporeSlovakia
List of countries participating in the Canadian Visa Waiver Program

Important: You must make an eTA Canada application per person. The processing of the application to obtain the eTA Canada costs only 7 dollars and is only done online by credit card.

What are the advantages of the eTA Canada?

The electronic travel authorization was developed to facilitate the entry of travelers whose profile matches the criteria of the country concerned. This allows individuals wishing to visit Canada to avoid the often lengthy and costly process of obtaining a Canadian visa. In addition to saving travelers time and money, this system also allows the Canadian government to perform an initial security check by analyzing visitors’ information, thus allowing the establishment of possible risk profiles before boarding the plane or ship.

Unlike an ESTA, the travel authorization for Canada remains valid for 5 years (or until the end of your passport’s validity) and allows you to stay in Canada for 90 consecutive days. If your eTA Canada application is refused, this does not mean that you are inadmissible, but you will have to contact the embassy to apply for a visa. The European Union has decided to follow the lead of Canada and the USA. Europe has implemented an ETIAS electronic travel authorization to enter the European Schengen area.