ETIAS is the equivalent of ESTA in Europe

Scheduled for 2024, ETIAS is a travel authorization system similar to its American model ESTA USA. There are some differences, but the principle is the same: to control the access of travelers to the Schengen Area countries, in order to guarantee more security within the EU. As in the U.S., the program covers countries that are currently visa-exempt.

ETIAS EU control system based on the ESTA model

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System. This Travel Information and Authorization System for the European Union is very similar to the American ESTA. The objective is the same: to ensure greater security within a territory by controlling travelers who wish to stay there temporarily. The European ETIAS procedure will allow certain foreigners to move freely within the Schengen Area once the authorization has been granted.

As with the ESTA questionnaire, the ETIAS application will include the completion of numerous pieces of information about each applicant:

The form will be processed automatically and eventually studied by the authorities in order to issue or not the permission to stay in the Schengen Area, in 72 hours maximum.

Please note: there are criteria that must be met in order to apply for an ETIAS, as with the ESTA form:

Unlike its American cousin, the European system grants a 3-year authorization and not 2 as in the USA. Moreover, it will cost less: 5 € for adults, free for minors, 21$ for ESTA. Another notable difference is that you will receive an email with the reason for rejection if you are not accepted. In this case, you will not be able to reach Europe by plane, boat, train, bus or any other means.

The ETIAS will not be the only key to enter the border, you will also need a valid passport.

Countries concerned by the ETIAS authorization

The soon to be operational approach will apply to foreign nationals already exempt from visa requirements in the Schengen area, who wish to travel to the zone. The countries where they will be able to move freely are the following:

Germany Austria Belgium Denmark
Spain Estonia Finland France
Greece Hungary Iceland Italy
Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxemburg
Malta Norway Netherlands Poland
Portugal Slovakia Slovenia Sweden
SwissCzech Republic  

All travelers from the following countries will be required to obtain an ETIAS prior to their next tourist, business or transit stay not exceeding 90 days:

AlbaniaAndorraAntigua and BarbudaArgentinaAustralia
BahamianBarbadosBosnia and HerzegovinaBrazilBrunei
CanadaChile ColombiaCosta RicaDominique
Salvador Grenada Guatemala Honduras hong kong
IsraelJapanKiribatiSouth KoreaMacau
Macedonia MalaysiaMarshall Islands Maurice Mexico
Micronesia Moldova MontenegroNew Zealand Nicaragua
PalauPanamaParaguay PeruSaint-Christophe-et-Niévès
Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesSamoaSerbiaSeychelles
SingaporeSolomon IslandsTaiwanEast Timor Tonga
Trinidad and TobagoTuvaluEnglandUruguayVanuatu

For other countries, the visa will remain mandatory.